Your leaving the world taught me the lesson of life.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “In Loving Memory.”

This post is dedicated to my sister-in-law who left this world in November’14.

DEAR DIDI,( In north India, elder sister or sister-in-law is called didi)

You left your worldly abode so abruptly. Even in your “non-living” state, your smile seemed to be the only living thing. It was fixed on your face. You looked content. you left us in a state of shock. I had never seen someone dying so closely. I didn’t know how to respond. But your death taught me the lessons of life.

Everything is so momentary. Only death is permanent. Why do we chase life if death is the ultimate destination. But no….I  felt that life is meant to be lived. When we die, all the worldly things that we have accumulated are worthless. We should enjoy even those worldly things while we are living. They should not be stored for some uncertain future. We should live each day as if it is our last day. We are sure to die one day.Then why should we not follow our heart, follow our dreams. We should not waste our life living others’ expectations. There should not be any regret at the end of this journey. The best time to do a thing is NOW. You never know if there will be a tomorrow or not.I want to make most of my life while I am still with it. I want to live in the present…in the moment. I am going to hear my inner voices and will not let them drown by others’ opinion. Life is too short. I don’t want to criticise others. I want to be happy with myself. I want to love and be loved. I want to embrace life. I want to have an undying faith in it. Life is what I make of it not just number of days I breathed.

Thank you didi for reinforcing this realization. May your soul rest in peace and may your blessings  be showered upon us.

Leave a Reply

